Nicholls State tabs Hall class

THIBODAUX — Greg Greely, Bobby Morrow, Morris Osburn, Rashunda Taylor, Rogers Washington and the 1979 men’s tennis team will be the newest class of the Nicholls State Athletics Hall of Fame, the school announced Thursday.

The class will be honored on Sept. 21 ahead of that night’s football game against Langston.

Greely was a defensive back in the 1980s and is current student assistant coach.

Morrow threw the first no-hitter in the baseball team’s history in 1961.

Osburn was Nicholls’ first basketball coach and athletic director.

Taylor, a softball standout, was named one of the players of the decade by the Southland Conference for the 1990s.

Washington powered the basketball team in the 1970s.

The 1979 men’s tennis team, which included Christopher Robinson, Raul Mendez, Torbjorn Fasth and Jan Freeman, went 17-1, had a 43-match winning streak that spanned three years and finished third at the national championships.