Curtis Johnson, Cairo Santos to represent Tulane at C-USA media day

Entering its final season as a member of Conference USA, Tulane football will be represented by coach Curtis Johnson and kicker Cairo Santos when the league holds its annual media day Wednesday in Irving, Texas.

Tulane will join the American Athletic Conference, formerly known as the Big East, next year.

Meanwhile, a whopping seven teams are newcomers to C-USA this year and will be making their first appearance at media day.

First-year Louisiana Tech coach Skip Holtz will be joined by defensive end IK Enemkpali as the Bulldogs move in from the Western Athletic Conference to C-USA. Florida International, Florida Atlantic, Middle Tennessee, North Texas and Texas-San Antonio said goodbye to the Sun Belt to join C-USA and will join Tech in making their first trip to media day.

Each coach from the C-USA will be joined in Irving by one player.

Santos was the Lou Groza Award winner in 2012 after connecting on 21-of-21 field goals and 26-of-27 extra points. He was named last week as the conference’s preseason Special Teams Player of the Year.

Johnson begins his second season at Tulane on Aug. 29 against Jackson State. Tulane finished 2-10 last year.