LSU, Tulane golfers earn honors

LSU sophomore golfer Curtis Thompson has been named the Louisiana Sports Writers Association Men’s Golfer of the Year, while Tulane’s Maribel Porras earned Women’s Golfer of the Year, serving as the headliner for the All-Louisiana golf teams voted on by school sports information directors.

Thompson earned first team All-Southeastern Conference honors and was named to the Golf World 50 Players to Watch list. He posted two top five finishes, four top 10s and nine top 20s in 11 starts. He won his first collegiate title at the Shoal Creek Intercollegiate in the fall season by firing a career-low 6-under par 210. He tied for 15th at the SEC Championships.

Joining Thompson on the first team is junior teammate Andrew Presley, Louisiana Tech’s Victor Lange; Louisiana-Lafayette’s Brandt Garon, a Baton Rouge native and Southeastern Louisiana’s Rhys West.

Second team honors went to LSU’s Stewart Jolly and Zach Wright, Eamon Bradley of SLU, Travis Wilmore of Louisiana Tech and Mason Seaborn of Louisiana-Monroe.

Bradley was voted the state’s Freshman of the Year and the University of New Orleans’ Bryan Odaiyar the Newcomer of the Year. Southeastern Louisiana’s Tim Baldwin was named Coach of the Year.

Porras earned honorable mention All-America from the Women’s Golf Coaches Association. She also earned first team All-Conference USA honors. Porras led the Green Wave to a Conference USA Championship, a school-best second place finish at the NCAA East Regional and to a school-record ninth-place finish at the NCAA Championships. She completed her collegiate career with a 14th-place finish at last week’s national championships and is ranked No. 38 by in the final individual national rankings of the year.

Joining Porras on the All-Louisiana team are teammates Emily Penttila and Gemma Dryburgh as well as LSU’s Madelene Sagstrom and McNeese’s Lina Lagergren.

Penttila was named the state’s Freshman of the Year after she earned first team All-Conference USA honors and All-CUSA Tournament team recognition. Tulane’s Andrew Pratt was named Coach of the Year after leading the Green Wave to one of its finest seasons.