Louisiana Tech’s Colby Cameron wins Sammy Baugh Award

hio — Louisiana Tech quarterback Colby Cameron has been named the winner of the Sammy Baugh Award, presented to college football’s top passer by The Touchdown Club of Columbus.

The trophy, first presented in 1959, has been held by legendary passers including Steve Young, John Elway, Bob Griese and last year’s winner, Case Keenum of Houston. Cameron is the 10th Western Athletic Conference quarterback to win the award.

During the season, Cameron set NCAA records for most consecutive pass attempts without an interception in a season (428) and career (444). The Newbury Park, Calif., native has 4,147 passing yards, 31 touchdown passes and a 69 percent completion percentage.

Cameron directed an offense ranked No. 1 nationally in scoring and total offense and No. 4 in passing offense. He directed a Bulldogs unit that was the only team in the country to score 51 or more points in eight games during the season.

The Sammy Baugh Award will be presented during the Touchdown Club of Columbus’ 58th Annual Sports Banquet on Feb. 9 at the Lifestyle Communities Pavilion in Downtown Columbus.