Two former Southern players, official finalists for Hall of Fame

Atlanta — The Black College Football Hall of Fame announced Tuesday 25 finalists will be on the ballot for induction into the fifth class of the hall. The list includes 20 players and five coaches/contributors.

Among the finalists are two former Southern players: wide receiver Harold Carmichael and defensive back Aeneas Williams.

Southern’s Arnett Mumford is among the former coaches and contributors nominated, as is former Southern coach athletic director Marino Casem, also a longtime Alcorn State coach.

Former Grambling players included defensive lineman Ernie Ladd and defensive back Everson Walls.

Former Grambling president Ralph Waldo Emerson Jones has also been nominated.

The 2014 class will be announced Oct. 23. New members will be honored at an enshrinement ceremony March 1, 2014.

The Black College Football Hall of Fame was established to honor football players, coaches and contributors from Historically Black Colleges and Universities.



Emerson Boozer, RB, Maryland Eastern Shore, 1962-65

Robert Brazile, LB, Jackson State, 1971-75

Roger Brown, OL, Maryland Eastern Shore, 1956-59

Harold Carmichael, WR, Southern, 1967-70

Richard Dent, DE, Tennessee St. 1979-82

L.C. Greenwood, DE, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, 1965-68

Harold Jackson, WR, Jackson State, 1965-68

Leroy Kelly, RB, Morgan State, 1960-63

Ernie “Big Cat” Ladd, DL, Grambling, 1957-60

Jethro Pugh, DE, Elizabeth City St., 1961-64

Donnie Shell, DB, South Carolina St., 1970-73

John Stallworth, WR, Alabama A&M, 1970-73

Michael Strahan, DE, Texas Southern, 1989-1992

Ken Riley, QB, Florida A&M, 1965-1968

Willie Totten, QB, Mississippi Valley, 1982-85

Otis Taylor, WR, Prairie View, 1961-64

Emmitt Thomas, QB/DB, Bishop College, 1962-65

Everson Walls, DB, Grambling, 1977-1980

Doug Wilkerson, OL, North Carolina Central, 1966-69

Aeneas Williams, CB, Southern, 1987-90


Marino Casem, coach, Alcorn State, 1963-92

Joe Gilliam, Sr., Tennessee St. defensive coordinator

William Joe, coach, Central State 1981-1993, Florida A&M 1994-2004

Ralph Waldo Emerson Jones, president, Grambling, 1936-77

Arnett Mumford, coach, Southern, 1927-61