SWAC preseason picture

Predicted order of finish

With total voting points and first-place votes in parentheses:


Arkansas-Pine Bluff (14) 105

Southern (6) 88

Prairie View A&M (3) 82

Grambling (1) 51

Texas Southern 38


Alabama State (15) 108

Jackson State (9) 102

Alabama A&M 60


Alcorn State 40

Offensive Player of the Year

QB Ben Anderson, Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Defensive Player of the Year

DB Qua Cox, Jackson State

First team


QB Ben Anderson Arkansas-Pine Bluff

RB Isaiah Crowell Alabama State

RB Justin Billings Arkansas-Pine Bluff

WR Lee Doss Southern

WR LaDarius Eckwood Arkansas-Pine Bluff

TE Dezmond Beverly Arkansas-Pine Bluff

OL Kenny Eagle Arkansas-Pine Bluff

OL Tre Glover Prairie View A&M

OL Damien Love Alabama State

OL Dillon Bonnet Prairie View A&M

OL Edmund Davis Alabama State


DL Robert Simpson MVSU

DL Damien Lee Arkansas-Pine Bluff

DL Tedderick Terrell Jackson State

DL DeMarcus Berry Arkansas-Pine Bluff

LB Jer-Ryan Harris Arkansas-Pine Bluff

LB Jerome Howard Prairie View A&M

LB Anthony Balancier Southern

DB Qua Cox Jackson State

DB Ryan Shaw Arkansas-Pine Bluff

DB Kevin Eugene MVSU

DB Virgil Williams Southern


PK Bobby Wenzig Alabama State

P Bobby Wenzig Alabama State

RS Virgil Williams Southern

Second team


QB Dray Joseph Southern

RB Tommy Gooden Jackson State

RB Rakeem Sims Jackson State

WR Julian Stafford MVSU

WR Montarius Smith Alabama A&M

TE Justin Robinson Alabama State

TE Olatunde’ Idowu Prairie View A&M

OL Keathric Brown Arkansas-Pine Bluff

OL Jordan Arthur Jackson State

OL Clint Marsh Grambling

OL Justin Goodrich Alabama A&M

OL Antonio Griggs MVSU


DL Carlton Jones Alabama State

DL Reginald Bailey Alabama A&M

DL Arthur Miley Southern

DL Corey Johnson Alabama A&M

LB Xavier Lofton Arkansas-Pine Bluff

LB Todd Wilcher Jackson State

LB DeMarques Taylor Alabama State

DB Cameron Loeffler Jackson State

DB Jamison Knox Alcorn State

DB Le’Tevin Wilcox Texas Southern

DB Derrick Harris Alabama A&M


PK Chris Barrick Prairie View A&M

P Travis Jatzlau Prairie View A&M

RS Johnta’ Hebert Prairie View A&M