State champs Florien, Hicks top Class B all-state teams

New state champions were crowned in Class B in 2013 as Florien claimed the softball title, while Forest returned to the top of the baseball heap after a one-year hiatus.

The two teams were honored with multiple selections to the Class B All-State teams, as voted on by a panel from the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Florien swept the top softball honors with freshman Abbey McMillian winning Outstanding Player honors and Bruce Stewart being voted Coach of the Year.

McMillian went 20-2 this season for the Lady Blackcats. Stewart, in his 29th year as a head coach, guided Florien to a 28-4 record and its first state championship in softball.

It was also Stewart’s first state championship as a head coach.

In baseball, Forest senior Houston Matthews was named the Outstanding Player after compiling a 7-1 record with a 2.50 ERA.

The baseball Coach of the Year honor went to Hicks’ Gary Williams, who guided the Pirates to their 19th state final in the past 25 years, along with a 24-9 record.

McMillian was joined on the all-state softball team by freshman teammates Caitlyn Corley (.429, 54 runs, Kaitlin Davis (.382, 7 HRs, 45 RBIs) and Bailey McCleary (.408).

Holden baseball standout Ray Hutchinson was the only Baton Rouge area player selected to either team. Hutchinson hit .523 with six home runs and 42 RBIs. A junior, Hutchinson also had a 7-1 record as a pitcher.

The remaining members of the all-state softball team were Zwolle senior Quinn Bowermeister (.528, 8 HRs), Anacoco senior Marci West (.461), Oak Hill senior Brooke McManus (.439), Grace Christian senior Haley Teal (.513), Anacoco senior D’Ambra Perkins (.446), Grand Lake senior Rebecca Monceaux (.393, 6 HRs), Grand Lake junior Blair Little (.333), Converse senior Corey Dixon (.472), Pitkin senior Kristen Roshong (.568), Grace Christian senior Tori Edwards (18-6, .375), Stanley senior Carla Crawford (.418, 39 RBIs) and Fairview seventh-grader Sarah Gordon (.418).

Two Forest teammates, junior Austin Diel (9-1. 2.25 ERA) and senior Skyler Hudson (.362), joined Matthews on the baseball squad.

Williams saw three of his Pirates make the team — sophomore Ty Williams (.378, 35 RBIs), senior Ty Helton (.423, 30 RBIs) and senior Austin Wilson (.386).

Rounding out the all-state baseball team were Hornbeck senior Matt Alford (.400), Simpson junior Hunter Stephens (.333, 17 stolen bases), Oak Hill senior Austin Thompson (8-2), Fairview freshman Brennan Maddox (.387), Glenmora junior Johnny O’Neal (.424, 10-3), Simpson senior Jared Parker (.306), Zwolle senior Chanse Malmay (9-1, .429), Oak Hill senior Cole Feazell (.450, 7 HRs) and Converse senior Darwin Wright (.488).