Barbe takes two major honors,  six spots on all-state team

A powerful offense that carried Barbe High-Lake Charles to its first appearance in the Louisiana High School Athletic Associaton/State Farm Prep Classic also netted the Bucs six spots on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association Class 5A All State team.

The Bucs also earned two of the three top honors, with junior quarterback Kennon Fontenot winning the Offensive Most Valuable Player and Mike Cutrera winning Coach of the Year.

The other honoree is Defensive Most Valuable Player Antonio McGhee of Parkway, who had 106 tackles and 11 sacks while helping the Panthers reach the quarterfinals.

Fontenot threw for 4,286 yards and 47 touchdowns while leading the Bucs to the state championship game. He is joined on the first team by five teammates: receiver Trey Quinn (2,141 yards, 26 TDS), tight end Desean Smith (815 yards, 11 TDs), offensive lineman Tanner Hooper, running back Courtney Galentine (1,110 rushing yards, 742 receiving yards, 20 TDs) and kicker Jamie McGee (14-21 FGs, 74-75 PATs).

Cutrera led the Bucs to a 13-2 record and their first championship game appearance since 1980 in his second season as head coach at the school. Cutrera was a defensive back on the 1980 team and was an assistant coach at the school for more than 20 years.

State champion Rummel put two players on the team, with athlete Damian Williams (2,595 total yards, 26 TDs) earning the athlete spot on offense and Terrance Jones (81 tackles, 11/2 sacks) making the defense as a linebacker.

The Baton Rouge area placed three players on the team: running back Khalil Thomas of Catholic High, defensive lineman Tanzel Smart of Scotlandville and punter Tyler Sarrazin of Dutchtown.

Thomas helped the Bears to the quarterfinals by compiling 1,467 rushing yards and 14 TDs, along with 22 catches for 365 yards and five TDs. He also had nearly 400 return yards with another TD.

Smart finished with 54 tackles, eight assists, 19 tackles for loss and five sacks. Sarrazin averaged 40.5 yards per punt for Dutchtown.

Rounding out the offense are receiver Devin Scott (878 yards, eight TDs) of West Jefferson; offensive linemen William Clapp and Ryan Hoefeld of Brother Martin, Cameron Robinson of West Monroe and Chad Harris of Acadiana and running back Donta Johnson (1,319 yards, 11 touchdowns) of Thibodaux.

Joining McGhee and Smart on the defensive line are Claude George of Acadiana (85 tackles, nine sacks) and Garrald McDowell (85 tackles, 101/2 sacks) of Covington.

Linebackers are Jones, Preston Winget (72 tackles) of Madeville, Dylan Burdeaux (124 tackles) of West Monroe and Braxton Acosta (87 tackles) of South Lafourche.

Defensive backs are Parry Nickerson of West Jefferson, Santos Ramirez (79 tackles, four interceptions) of Captain Shreve, Trent Bourque (116 tackles, two interceptions) of New Iberia and Todd Primo (39 tackles, five interceptions) of Mandeville.

The kick returner is Xavier Woods (16.4 punt return avg.) of West Monroe.