PCC’s Lawrence Brown named coach of the year

Pointe Coupee Central had only been to the football playoffs once before and that was in 2011. In 2012, the Cougars soared to new heights by winning the first district title and first playoff game in school history.

Those accomplishments, along with an eight-game winning streak, helped Pointe Coupee Central coach Lawrence Brown collect Class 1A Coach of the Year honors from the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

State champion Ouachita Christian dominated the 1A all-state team with five selections, including the other individual award winners on the squad selected by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

“I’m always humbled by any accolades I receive,” Brown said. “The work I put in is nothing compared to what the kids do. Anything we’ve accomplished is because of their effort. I’m blessed to have the support of the school and the community, along with a group
of coaches who aren’t on the faculty who come in to help every day. We all kept working until good things started happening.”

Braden Bristo and Cade Harper led the way for Ouachita Christian. Bristo was selected as the Offensive Most Valuable Player after accounting for 2,115 yards and 27 touchdowns while playing quarterback and receiver. He also was selected to the team as athlete.

Harper, a linebacker, was voted the Defensive MVP by a panel of sportswriters from across the state after compiling 137 tackles and three sacks for an OCS team that has won the past two 1A state titles and 30 straight games. Harper led an Eagles defense that shut out eight opponents.

Ouachita Christian landed three other players on the team: offensive lineman Gustave Guillioux, tight end David Joe Branch (21 catches, 321 yards, eight TDs) and linebacker Jordan Washam (145 tackles, 10 sacks).

Runner-up Haynesville placed running back CaVontae Critton on the team.

Three Baton Rouge area players made the squad. PCC’s David St. Cyr, who had 42 catches for 1,052 yards and 12 TDs, was part of the offense, along with Southern Lab quarterback Deonte Shorts, who completed 135 of 222 passes for 2,315 yards and 31 TDs while leading his team to the quarterfinals.

False River Academy’s Ryan Bossier made the squad as punter, averaging 44.3 yards per punt.

Semifinalists West St. John (five) and Kentwood (three) and Metairie Park Country Day (two) also placed multiple players on the team.

Running back Kylum Favorite (1,100 yards, 17 TDs) and lineman Micah Claiborne made the offensive unit for WSJHS. The Rams put three players on defense with defensive back Justin Bethancourt (40 tackles, six interceptions, four tackles for loss) and returning all-state selection Dontre Turner (107 tackles, seven sacks, five forced fumbles) at linebacker as well as defensive lineman Eric Bell (47 tackles, 17 tackles for loss, six sacks, four forced fumbles).

Offensive lineman Javari Nichols, defensive lineman Torandon Watson (34 tackles, three sacks) and defensive back Leslie Collins (two interceptions) were Kentwood’s players on the team. Kicker Jansen Jackson (6-of-8 field goals) and defensive lineman Richmond Jackson (63 tackles, three sacks) were Country Day’s players on the team.

Gueydan’s Trevor DeRouen (1,915 yards, 25 touchdowns) was the other running back selected, while Westminster Christian’s Jalen Williams
(51-747, nine TDs) was the other receiver. K.J. Malone, of Cedar Creek, and Emmett Burton, of Block, completed the offensive line.

Block’s Jahmal Macklin (79 tackles, 12 sacks) was the other defensive lineman, while Elton’s Micah Lavan (53 tackles and 18 tackles for loss) was the other linebacker.

Other defensive backs chosen were Joey Faulk of Vermilion Catholic and Wesley Bellard of Westminster Chrisian. Faulk led his team with 122 tackles, 13 tackles for loss, and two interceptions. Bellard recorded 82 tackles and seven interceptions during his senior season. Scott Ross of Elton was picked as a kick returner after tallying 760 return yards.