LSU, ULL dominate All-La. team

The two teams that battled for an NCAA Regional championship at the start of the month at Alex Box Stadium dominated the first team and special awards of the All-Louisiana College baseball team as selected and announced by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Louisiana-Lafayette, which advanced to the championship round of the Baton Rouge regional, and College World Series participant LSU, captured 14 spots on the team, splitting the spots down the middle with seven each.

LSU picked up four-of-the-five special awards given each year with the Cajuns getting the other.

The team was selected on the basis of nominations made by the sports information/media relations contacts from the four-year baseball playing schools in the state. The list of nominations, based on stats and honors accumulated through the conference tournaments, was voted on by a panel of media and sports information representatives who are LSWA members. The only restriction was that SIDs could not vote for members of their own teams, while media members could vote for anyone on the ballot.

LSU first baseman Mason Katz was named the Hitter of the Year, while Aaron Nola, who was undefeated in the regular season, was named Pitcher of the Year. Tiger shortstop Alex Bregman was named the Freshman of the Year, while Louisiana-Lafayette outfielder Dex Kjerstad was named the Newcomer of the Year.

There were three coaches in the close voting for Coach of the Year honor which was won by Paul Mainieri of LSU. Also receiving votes were Tony Robichaux of Louisiana-Lafayette and the first-year coach Brent Porche of LSU-Alexandria.