Kimberlyn Duncan, Damar Forbes claim SEC track honors

After leading the LSU track and field teams with winning performances at the 2013 SEC outdoor championships, seniors Kimberlyn Duncan and Damar Forbes were honored Friday as recipients of SEC postseason awards in a vote of the league’s coaches.

Duncan is a repeat selection as Women’s Outdoor Runner of the Year, while Forbes was named Men’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Year for the first time.

Duncan made history in her final SEC meet by claiming the SEC Commissioner’s Trophy as the top individual point scorer. She defended her 100-meter and 200-meter titles and ran the second leg of LSU’s second-place 4x100-meter relay team to score 22 points.

After defending her SEC outdoor title in the 100-meter dash with a winning time of 11.32 seconds, Duncan turned in a record-setting performance in her final race as she sprinted to a seasonal-best time of 22.35 seconds to win her third straight crown in the 200-meter dash. That performance matched the 14-year-old meet record of 22.35 set by Georgia’s Debbie Ferguson in 1999.

Duncan is the first sprinter to win three straight titles in the women’s 200 meters. She also became just the third sprinter in SEC history to sweep 100-meter and 200-meter titles in back-to-back seasons, joining LSU’s Esther Jones (1990-91) and Ferguson (1998-99).

Forbes had perhaps the most dramatic victory of the SEC outdoor championships while claiming his first SEC long jump crown.

After trailing Florida’s Marquis Dendy (27-2½) heading into the final round of jumps, Forbes soared to an NCAA-leading and career-best wind-aided mark of 27-4½ on his sixth and final attempt to win the SEC title for the first time in his collegiate career.

Forbes ran the leadoff leg of LSU’s SEC champion 4x100-meter relay team as he teamed with sophomore Aaron Ernest, freshman Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake and junior Shermund Allsop for the win on Sunday with a seasonal-best time of 38.98.


64 athletes earn degrees: LSU issued 64 diplomas to its student-athletes Friday as the school held its annual spring commencement. Of the 64 degrees that were handed out, 57 were undergraduate degrees with the other seven being for graduate school.


Laura Aleman, Women’s Track & Field, Kinesiology

Brianne Bergeron, Women’s Track & Field, Kinesiology

Kevin Berry, Baseball, Sports Administration

Joseph Caraway, Men’s Track & Field, Kinesiology

Timmy Dasinger, Men’s Swimming & Diving, Kinesiology

Rick Duran, Men’s Swimming & Diving, Kinesiology

Damar Forbes, Men’s Track & Field, Sports Administration

Jarrett Hardnett, Football, Sports Administration

Katrina Hegge, Women’s Golf, Sports Administration

Siedda Herbert, Women’s Track & Field, Sports Administration

Lauren Houston, Women’s Softball, Sports Administration

Victoria Jacobsen, Women’s Volleyball, Kinesiology

Mason Katz, Baseball, Sports Administration

Audrey Lawson, Women’s Swimming & Diving, Kinesiology

Phillip LeBlanc, Men’s Track & Field, Kinesiology

Daniel Obioha, Men’s Track & Field, Kinesiology

Rynell Parson, Men’s Track & Field, Sports Administration

Lindsay Price, Women’s Softball, Kinesiology

Shelby Prunty, Women’s Gymnastics, Sports Administration

Raph Rhymes, Baseball, Sports Administration

Morgan Russell, Women’s Softball (Student Coach), Sports Administration

Ryan St. Julien, Football, Sports Administration

Adrienne Webb, Women’s Basketball, Sports Administration

Ebie Wilson, Women’s Tennis, Kinesiology


Dexter Alexander, Football , Communication Studies

Olivier Borsos, Men’s Tennis , Psychology

Joey Bourgeois, Baseball, General Studies

Chase Clement, Football, General Studies

Chris Davenport, Football, Interdisciplinary Studies

Jonique Day, Women’s Track & Field, Communication Studies

Blake Dean, Baseball, Interdisciplinary Studies

Andrew Del Piero, Men’s Basketball , Sociology

Sam Delahoussaye, Women’s Volleyball , General Studies

Rockey Duplessis, Football, General Studies

Janelle Garcia, Women’s Gymnastics, Communication Disorders

Bianca Lutley, Women’s Basketball , General Studies

Meghan Mannari, Women’s Volleyball , Psychology

Latoya McDermott, Women’s Track & Field, Communication Studies

Mikayda Mills, Women’s Swimming & Diving, Political Science & Economics

Andrew Muller, Men’s Swimming & Diving , Political Science

Barrett Nugent, Men’s Track & Field , Liberal Arts

Lacey Sanchez, Women’s Track & Field , English

Chris Tolliver, Football, General Studies


Ben Domingue, Football, International Trade & Finance

Nick Kunkel, Men’s Swimming & Diving, Finance

Jordy Snikeris, Baseball, Finance

Zack Wepasnick, Men’s Swimming & Diving, Information Systems & Decision Sciences


Matt Fury, Men’s Swimming & Diving, Chemical Engineering

Chris Mericas, Men’s Swimming & Diving , Mechanical Engineering

Aaron Moore, Men’s Track & Field , Civil Engineering

Clay Spencer, Football, Civil Engineering

Tabari Williams, Football, Computer Science


Kaleigh Dickson, Women’s Gymnastics, Mass Communication

Reyna Lubin, Women’s Soccer, Mass Communication

Elle Schmidt, Women’s Swimming & Diving, Mass Communication


Allison Falcon, Softball, Biology

Leigh-Ann Naccari, Women’s Track & Field, Biology


Ashley Applegate, Women’s Softball, Curriculum and Instruction

Laura Carleton, Women’s Track & Field, Business Administration

DJ Howard, Football, Business Administration

Martin Jungfleisch, Men’s Swimming & Diving, Finance

Sara Pollock, Women’s Soccer, Public Administration

Lindsay Roe, Women’s Track & Field, Elementary Education

Alex Russian, Football, Business Administration