New Orleans area school news, June 27-July 3, 2013

Chapelle names alumna of the year

Archbishop Chapelle High School has chosen Jane Ann Kuckelman Frosch, school president, as its 2013 Alumna of the Year.

After graduating from Archbishop Chapelle High School in 1974, Frosch attended Loyola University where she received a Bachelor of Music. She also earned a Masters of Music from the University of New Orleans. Frosch began her career in education as a general music teacher at St. Rita, Holy Rosary and St. Clement of Rome Elementary Schools.

In 1979, Frosch returned to her alma mater as the choral music teacher. She served as Alumnae and Development Director and later president. She was named a City Business Woman of the Year in 2006 and a member of Leadership Jefferson and has served on various organizations’ boards.

St. Tammany faculty, staff honored

Principal Leslie Martin of Marigny Elementary School in Mandeville has been selected as a regional winner and state finalist in the 2013-2014 Principal of the Year recognition program held by the Louisiana State Department of Education.

She will be among the finalists to be honored at the annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Symposium to be held in Baton Rouge on July 12 at the Crowne Plaza Executive Center. The announcement of the state winner will be made at an awards and recognition banquet that evening.

The other two district winners are Amy DiCarlo of Little Oak Middle School in Slidell in the Middle School/Junior High division, and Bruce Bundy of Mandeville High School in the High School Division.

Martin was recognized for her instructional leadership, goal-setting, collaboration, curriculum adjustment to the Common Core standards, and assessment of student performance.

She graduated from Southeastern Louisiana University in Hammond with a Masters of Education degree in 1995 and has served as Marigny’s principal since the school opened in 2009.

DiCarlo graduated from Southeastern Louisiana University with a Masters in Education degree in 1995. Principal of Little Oak Middle School since 2005, she has also served as a teacher at Florida Avenue Elementary School and Honey Island Elementary School.

Bundy has served as Principal at Mandeville High School since 2002. He graduated from the University of New Orleans with a Master of Science Degree in Educational Administration in 1995 and earned a Special Degree in Educational Administration from the University of Southern Mississippi in 1998.

Teachers of the Year for the coming School Year are Kristi Tanguis of Mandeville Elementary School, Laura Gerald of St. Tammany Junior High School, and Diane Shay of Pearl River High School.

Shay has taught mathematics in St. Tammany Parish since 2003. Tanguis has taught the third grade ELA and Math gifted curriculum for the past two years at Mandeville Elementary, and Gerald is an eighth-grade reading and English teacher at St. Tammany Junior High School.

Charter scholarship awards top $51 million

Leslie Ellison, vice president of the Orleans Parish School Board, announced that OPSB students enrolled at eight direct run and charter schools received $51.2 Million in scholarships to attend colleges and universities across America this fall.

Students at Ben Franklin High School received the most scholarships totaling $20.1 Million, followed by Warren Easton High School, $8.8 Million; Lusher High School, $5.6 Million; McDonogh #35 High School, $5.2 Million; Edna Karr High School, $5.05 Million; McMain High School, $3.8 Million; Science and Math High School, $2.04 Million; and McDonogh Career Academy, $496,760,00.