8 Benjamin Franklin High School scholars recognized

Benjamin Franklin High School seniors Emily Chen, Jessica Link, Katarina Malmgrem, William McGrew, Arman Rahman, Kevin Wang, Douglas Yang and Allen Zhang have been named as candidates in the 2013 U.S. Presidential Scholars program.

The Franklin students will be eligible to be among the 560 nationwide semifinalists. Semifinalists will be selected from more than 3,000 candidates on the basis of superior achievements, leadership qualities, personal character and involvement in community and school activities.

Final selection of the scholars will be made by the Commission on Presidential Scholars, a group appointed by the president, and will be announced in May. The commission will select one young man and one young woman from each state.

Scholars will be invited to Washington in June to receive the U.S. Presidential Scholars medallion.

A panel of educators chose semifinalists after a review of student essays, self-assessments, descriptions of activities, school recommendations, and school transcripts.