NEW ORLEANS - Add one more award for Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel. The dynamic freshman quarterback is the winner of the Manning Award.

Presented by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, the award goes to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the only one which takes into consideration performances in bowl games.

Manziel, who had previously won the Heisman Trophy among his other honors prior to A&M’s Cotton Bowl game against Oklahoma. Manziel was sensational that night, passing for 287 yards and two touchdowns while rushing for 229 and two more TDs in the Aggies’ 41-13 victory. Manziel is the first freshman to win the Manning Award which recognizes the accomplishments of the Manning family. The other finalists were Matt Barkley of Southern California, Tajh Boyd of Clemson, Jordan Lynch of Northern Illinois, Marcus Mariota of Oregon, AJ McCarron of Alabama, Braxton Miller of Ohio State, Aaron Murray of Georgia and Geno Smith of West Virginia.

More Stories