Alexander becomes 13th Tiger in college HOF

Former LSU running back Charles Alexander was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in a ceremony in New York on Tuesday night.

Alexander, who played with the Tigers from 1975-78 and is the third-leading rusher (4,035) in school history, became the 13th Tiger to join the hall.

“It’s a great honor,” Alexander said at a news conference before the 55th National Football Foundation Annual Awards Dinner. “I think it’s lot of recognition for the university. LSU is a school that is dear to me. Also, a lot of recognition for my teammates out there. ... It’s been a great weekend.”

Alexander joined his head coach at LSU, Charlie McClendon, and his position coach, Jerry Stovall, in the hall. McClendon, who compiled the most wins of any LSU head coach in going 137-59-7 from 1962-79, was inducted in 1986.

McClendon is one of five LSU head coaches enshrined. The others are Dana X. Bible (1916), Mike Donahue (1923-27), Biff Jones (1932-34) and Bernie Moore (1935-47).

Stovall, who was the Tigers head coach from 1980-83, was enshrined two years ago for his career as an LSU halfback from 1960-62.

The other enshrinees who played for the Tigers are Doc Fenton (1907-09), who played end, quarterback and place-kicker; end Ken Kavanaugh (1937-39); halfback Abe Mickael (1933-35); end Gus Tinsley (1934-36); cornerback Tommy Casanova (1969-71); and halfback Billy Cannon (1957-59).

Alexander was an All-American each of his last two seasons and left LSU as the holder of nine Southeastern Conference records, co-holder of another and holder of 27 Tigers records. He is still has LSU records for most rushes in a game (43), most yards in a season (1,686) and highest per-game rushing average for a season (153.3).

He was recognized for his hall election during LSU’s game against Alabama on Nov. 3 in Tiger Stadium. That was one of four home games that Alexander, a resident of Missouri City, Texas, attended this season.

“I don’t watch that much college football,” Alexander said, “but I do follow the Tigers.”

LSU hosted a reception in Alexander’s honor before the induction dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria.

The other players who were inducted were Otis Armstrong (Purdue), Steve Bartkowski (California), Hal Bedsole (USC), Dave Casper (Notre Dame), Ty Detmer (BYU), Tommy Kramer (Rice), Art Monk (Syracuse), Greg Myers (Colorado State), Jonathan Ogden (UCLA), Gabe Rivera (Texas Tech), Mark Simoneau (Kansas State), Scott Thomas (Air Force) and John Wooten (Colorado).

Simoneau was a member of the New Orleans Saints from 2006-09, and Kramer played in one game with the Saints in 1990.

The class also included three coaches: Phillip Fulmer (Tennessee), Jimmy Johnson Oklahoma State, Miami) and R.C. Slocum (Texas A&M).