Business Honors for Sept. 1

Wendy Waren, Louisiana Restaurant Association
Wendy Waren, Louisiana Restaurant Association

Baton Rouge General’s Pennington Cancer Center is among 10 cancer programs in the nation to receive an Association of Community Cancer Centers 2013 Innovator Award. The award was for its disaster charts initiative, a portable medical record that ensures cancer patients are able to continue their treatment without an extended delay in the event of a natural disaster. Baton Rouge General’s Pennington Cancer Center will present its disaster charts program in the fall at the ACCC National Oncology Conference in Boston.


Wendy Waren, vice president of communications for the Louisiana Restaurant Association in Metairie, received a National Diversity Council Glass Ceiling Award. The Glass Ceiling Award recognizes women who have worked their way up the corporate ladder in their chosen field, achieved success and continue to pave the way for female professionals.

The New Orleans Regional Leadership Institute announced 41 business, civic and community leaders from a 10-parish region have completed the 2013 New Orleans Regional Leadership Institute. The nine-month program, with a competitive application process, is designed to improve personal leadership skills and examine issues central to the advancement of the Greater New Orleans region.

The 2013 graduates are Will Bienvenu, ASI Federal Credit Union; Michelle Biggs, St. Tammany West Chamber; Yvette A. Borden, PACE Greater New Orleans; Jeanne Boughton, Gardner Realtors; Lisa Burns; Randy Cabral, International Matex Tank Terminals; Jack Carey, Teach for America; Jaimmé Collins, Adams & Reese; Steven Dugal, Northwestern Mutual of Louisiana; Steve Dumez , Eskew + Dumez+Ripple; Dominique Espinosa, Homestead Title; Lee Finkelstein, East Jefferson General Hospital; Annie Flettrich, French Quarter Business Association; Julie Grantz, Peoples Health; Jay Greiner, Durr Heavy Construction; Ray Guidry; Todd James, Mathes Brierre Architects. SchuyLer Jarrow, Entergy Corp.; Mark Jeanfreau, Phelps Dunbar; Chase Jones, New Orleans Pelicans; Thomas Lasher, New Orleans Redevelopment Authority; Michael Levy, Chevron; Gary Mendoza, Gulf Coast Bank; Gordon Meyer, Postlethwaite & Netterville; Jennifer Messina, Habitat for Humanity St. Tammany West; Iray Nabatoff, Community Center of St. Bernard; Ricardo Navarro, The Boeing Co.; Brandon Nelson, Whitney Bank; Loretta Poree; Myla Poree, Seedco Financial Services; Coleman Ridley, Jones Walker; Matt Rookard, Greater New Orleans Inc.; Tim Soslow, TurboSquid; Angelic Sutherland, St. John Parish; Nathaniel Tannehill, L’Auberge Baton Rouge; Courtney Thornton, Courtney Courseault Thornton; Michael Todd, First NBC; Jordan Tremblay, The Dow Chemical Co.; Cathy Washington, Urban League of Greater N.O.; Matthew Wilson, Barriere Construction & Co.; and Yolanda Wilson, Second Harvest Food Bank.


The Right Angle advertising and branding agency in Lafayette received three national awards at the 34th annual Telly Awards: a silver for its “Care Sooner. Open Later” television production for Iberia Urgent Care and bronze awards for its “Wilderness, Weapons, & War” and “Planetarium” television productions created for the Lafayette Science Museum.