People in Business for June 16


Renee Graff has been named mortgage lending controller and operations officer at Investar Bank. Graff was controller and internal auditor.

Denise Ford has been named senior geologist in the Baton Rouge operations office of New Orleans-based PSI. Ford was a project manager/environmental engineer at Gulf South Research Corp. in Baton Rouge.


Marty Mayer, president and chief executive officer of Stirling Properties, has been elected to serve as vice president of the International Council of Shopping Centers’ Southern Division. As a divisional vice president, he also has been appointed to serve on the government relations advisory committee. He currently serves on the executive committee of ICSC’s worldwide board of trustees.

Ron E. Samford Jr., recently announced as president and chief executive officer of Metairie Bank and Trust, has been elected to the bank’s board of directors.


Richard K. Leefe, a senior partner in the Metairie law firm of Leefe Gibbs Sullivan & Dupré LLC, has been installed as president of the Louisiana State Bar Association.

Other officers are Joseph L. “Larry” Shea Jr., of Bradley Murchison Kelly & Shea LLC in Shreveport, president-elect; Barry H. Grodsky, of Taggart Morton LLC in New Orleans, secretary and editor of the Louisiana Bar Journal; Steven G. “Buzz” Durio, of Durio, McGoffin, Stagg & Ackermann in Lafayette, treasurer; and John H. Musser IV, a sole practitioner with offices in New Orleans and Covington, immediate past president.

Members from the local area installed to the board of governors are from the first district: H. Minor Pipes III, of Barrasso Usdin Kupperman Freeman & Sarver LLC in New Orleans, and David W. Leefe, of Liskow & Lewis PLC in New Orleans; the second district: Stephen I. Dwyer, of Dwyer, Cambre & Suffern APLC in Metairie; the third district: Dona Kay Renegar, of Huval, Veazey, Felder & Renegar LLC in Lafayette; fifth district: Michael E. Holoway, of Milling Benson Woodward LLP in Covington; and at-large members: Daniel A. Cavell, of Morvant & Cavell APLC in Thibodaux; Julie H. Kilborn, of the Louisiana Public Defender Board in Baton Rouge; Mickey S. deLaup, of Neuner Pate Law Firm in New Orleans; the LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center: John M. Church, of Baton Rouge, a professor at the law center; the Tulane University Law School: Ronald J. Scalise Jr., of New Orleans, vice dean for academic affairs and professor at Tulane Law School; the Louisiana State Law Institute: Marguerite L. “Peggy” Adams, of Liskow & Lewis PLC in New Orleans.

Jeffrey A. Riggs, of Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP in Lafayette, is chairman of the House of Delegates Liaison Committee.

Kyle A. Ferachi, a partner in the Baton Rouge office of McGlinchey Stafford PLLC, was installed as chairman of the Young Lawyers Division of the Louisiana State Bar Association.

Other officers are J. Lee Hoffoss Jr. of Hoffoss Devall LLC in Lake Charles, chairman elect; Erin O. Braud, the Law Offices of Robert E. Birtel in Metairie, secretary; and Lawrence J. Centola III, of Martzell & Bickford in New Orleans, immediate past chairman.

Members from the local area of the Young Lawyers Division council are district 1: Dylan Tuggle Thriffiley and James E. “Jimmy” Courtenay, both of New Orleans; district 2: Jason M. Baer, of Metairie, and Jennifer Z. Rosenbach, of Gretna; district 3: Sara B. Rodrigue, of Lafayette; district 5: Scotty E. Chabert Jr. and Bradley J. Tate, both of Baton Rouge; at-large representative: Kellen J. Mathews, of Baton Rouge; American Bar Association Young Lawyers Division representative: Cristin G. Fitzgerald, of New Orleans; and young lawyer member/American Bar Association House of Delegates: Sarah E. Stogner, of New Orleans.