Business Honors for June 30

The Louisiana State Bar Association has presented its David A. Hamilton Lifetime Achievement Award to Gary K. McKenzie, a partner with the law firm of Steffes, Vingiello & McKenzie, for pro bono work; its Pro Bono Publico Award to the Baker Donelson law firm; the Catherine D. Kimball Award for Advancement of the Administration of Justice to James T. “Jay” Dixon Jr. of Lake Charles, chief public defender for Calcasieu and Cameron parishes in 14th Judicial District; the Stephen T. Victory Memorial Award
for outstanding contributions to the Louisiana Bar Journal to David H. Ogwyn, owner of Ogwyn Law Firm LLC in
Baton Rouge; the Leah Hipple McKay Memorial Award for Outstanding Volunteerism to Catherine E. Lasky, an attorney with Jones, Swanson, Huddell & Garrison LLC in New
Orleans; Human Rights Awards to J. Dalton Courson, of Stone Pigman Walther
Wittmann LLC in New Orleans, and the Greater Baton Rouge chapter of the Louis A. Martinet Legal Society Inc.; the John
Ashby Hernandez III Memorial Award for Francophone Leadership to John A. Hernandez Jr., a partner at Hernandez and Hernandez APLC in
Lafayette, the first recipient of the award which bears his son’s name; the 2013
Children’s Law Award to Kathleen Stewart Richey, Division A judge of the East Baton Rouge Parish Juvenile Court; and the Louisiana Bar Foundation’s Curtis R. Boisfontaine Trial Advocacy Award to Baton Rouge attorney
Mary Olive Pierson.

President’s Awards for various services to the association went to Donald R. Abaunza, of Liskow & Lewis PLC in New Orleans; Robert A. Kutcher, partner at Chopin, Wagar Richard & Kutcher in Metairie; Winfield E. Little Jr., an attorney in Lake Charles; Clyde Darrow Merritt, posthumously to the former Orleans Parish public defender and former prosecutor; Judge Harry F. Randow, 9th Judicial District chief judge in Alexandria; and Lisa Woodruff-White, East Baton Rouge Parish Family Court judge, Division B.

The Louisiana State Bar Association’s Young Lawyers Division has presented its Outstanding Young Lawyer Award to Jamie Hurst Watts, of the Long Law Firm LLP in Baton Rouge; Bat P. Sullivan Jr. Chair’s Award to Sarah E. Stogner in the New Orleans office of Carver, Darden, Koretzky, Tessier, Finn, Blossman & Areaux LLC; Pro Bono Award to Ryan R. Brown, with Roedel, Parsons, Koch, Blache, Balhoff & McCollister ALC in Baton Rouge; the Honorable Michaelle Pitard Wynne Professionalism Award to Ryan M. McCabe, with Montgomery Barnett LLP in New Orleans; Service to the Public Award to the Baton Rouge Bar Association Young Lawyers Section for its “Belly Up with the Bar” fundraiser for youth programs; and Service to the Bar Award to the Lafayette Young Lawyers Association for its “Shoot for Justice” clay shoot fundraiser for its Lafayette Volunteer Lawyers program.