School Board recognizes Lafayette students of the year

The Lafayette Parish School Board recognized the parish’s fifth-, eighth- and 12th-grade students of the year during its board meeting Wednesday.

Selected as district winners were: Fiorella Contreras, fifth-grader at Prairie Elementary; Sarah Cagle, eighth-grader at Edgar Martin Middle; and Gina Biddick, a senior at Comeaux High School.

Cagle was also selected as the regional finalist for eighth-grade student of the year.

Fifth grade students of year — Acadian Middle: Ashley Dugas; L.J. Alleman Middle: Peyton Sias; Alice Boucher Elementary: Lilliana Barahona; Broussard Middle: Dylan Fleming; Charles Burke Elementary: Jacob Tate; Carencro Heights Elementary: Kaelyn Alexander; Duson Elementary: Emily Setka; Evangeline Elementary: Coby Harris; J.W. Faulk Elementary: Hosea Ned; II; Ernest Gallet Elementary: Matthew Ratzlaff; J Wallace James Elementary: Vegas Woods; L. Leo Judice Elementary: Taylor Phillips; Live Oak Elementary: Brianna Francis; Edgar Martin Middle: Grant Landreth; Milton Elementary: Connor Venetis; S.J. Montgomery Elementary: Elena Decuir; Myrtle Place Elementary: Gwyneth Alexander; Ossun Elementary: Brennan Stone; Plantation Elementary: Trenity Kelson; Ridge Elementary: Laith Alferahin; Scott Middle: Shaylee Arena; and Youngsville Middle: Gabrielle Galey.

Eighth grade students of the year — Acadian Middle: Unique Davis; L.J. Alleman Middle: Christian Pitre; Paul Breaux Middle: Aarthi Senthil; Broussard Middle: Jaleel Ross; Carencro Middle: Austin Kerner; Judice Middle: Olivia Guidry; Lafayette Middle: Raven Esta; Milton Middle : Gabe Breaux; Scott Middle: Gabrielle Bristow; Thibodaux STEM Magnet Academy: Ashley Morgan; and Youngsville Middle: Gabrielle Bidez.

Twelfth grade students of the year — Acadiana High: Abigail Leger; Carencro High: Danielle Castille; Early College Academy: Rachel Fleming; Lafayette High: Lindsey Hayob; and Northside High: Christopher Cormier.