Student journalists win awards at regional conference

The University of Louisiana at Lafayette received six Mark of Excellence Awards on Saturday at the Society of Professional Journalists regional conference at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville.

Louisiana Focus,” a student-produced news and feature radio show, was named best all-around radio newscast.

Lanie Cook, a December journalism graduate, and Seth Dickerson, a junior journalism major from Carencro, finished first in in-depth reporting for an article that appeared in the university’s weekly newspaper, The Vermilion.

Jeanne Robicheaux, a senior broadcast major from Houma, won first in the radio in-depth reporting category, and Carly Viator, a senior broadcast major from New Iberia, was first in the best radio feature category.

Acadiana Advocate intern Annie Ourso, a senior journalism major from Baton Rouge, was a finalist in the magazine nonfiction category for an article published in Acadiana Profile magazine. Cook, of Broussard, also was a finalist in the feature writing category.

The four first-place winners, Cook, Dickerson, Robicheaux and Viator, will compete in the SPJ’s national Mark of Excellence competition.

The regional SPJ competition included schools in Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee.