Committee chairs selected for East Feliciana police jury

Dwight Hill was named Tuesday to serve as chairman of the Police jury’s finance and budget committee, replacing Larry Beauchamp who has headed the committee the past three years.

Newly-elected East Feliciana Police Jury President Louis Kent, who recommended Hill for the position, also recommended Beauchamp remain on the committee as a member, but Beauchamp declined the appointment.

Beauchamp is vice president of the parish governing body.

Chris Hall was named to the committee, at Beauchamp’s recommendation. Edward Brooks will serve as an alternate to the committee.

Beauchamp will chair the buildings and properties committee and will serve as a member of the executive committee, along with Kent and Hall.

Other committee heads appointed by Kent are Keith Mills, personnel committee; Jason McCray, public works committee; and Hall, chairman of the equipment committee.

On other matters, the jury passed a motion giving a letter of support for Section 8 housing vouchers to David A. Turner. District Attorney Sam D’Aquilla said without the support the jury could possibly face litigation.