Zachary board bans employee flip-flops and rubber clogs

Employees of the Zachary Community School District will not be allowed to wear rubber clogs or flip-flops on the job beginning in the 2013-14 school year.

The School Board voted unanimously Thursday to approve changes to the employee dress code, which also included a new requirement that tattoos be covered.

During a work session before the meeting, Superintendent Scott Devillier said that the modifications to the code were made in response to some employees becoming lax in their professional appearance and also because of possible workers compensation claims.

“Teachers move around a lot, especially at the elementary level,” he said.

A recent “trip and fall” claim cost $79,000 when an employee sustained a knee injury while wearing a pair of flip-flop sandals, he said.

The dress code defines flip-flops as “a backless shoe with a strap between the toes.”

Sandals that have straps across the foot and no backs will be allowed, Devillier said. Rubber clogs are commonly referred to by the trademarked name Crocs.

The code also dictates the length of employees’ skirts, prohibits “revealing, skintight or see-through” clothing and requires strapless, halter or spaghetti-strap tops to be covered by a shirt or sweater.

Further requirements are that “clothing shall fit appropriately and all undergarments shall be concealed.”

Enforcement of the dress code will be at the discretion of the principals, Devillier said.

Other business before the board included:

ENROLLMENT: Devillier reported that enrollment for the 2013-14 school year is 5,380, an increase of 12 students from 2012-13. More students are expected to be added in the next two weeks, he said.

AWARDS: Northwestern Elementary and Rollins Place Elementary each received $1,000 grants from the 100 Mile Club organization. The money will be used to provide students opportunities to walk, run or jog 100 miles during the school year, Devillier said.

Rollins Place Elementary School Principal Jennifer Marangos received the Louisiana Reading Association Administrator of the Year award.