Business Honors for March 9


The LSU E.J. Ourso College of Business is inducting into its 2014 Hall of Distinction Gregory Hamer Sr., Rose Hudson and John Landon.

Hamer, chief executive officer of B&G Food Enterprises, is a 1968 general business administration graduate of the LSU E.J. Ourso College of Business. B&G Food Enterprises operates more than 80 YUM! Brands’ Taco Bell, Pizza Hut and Long John Silver’s fast-food restaurants and employs more than 2,000 workers in Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas.

Hudson, president and chief executive officer of the Louisiana Lottery Corp., is a 1989 public administration graduate of the LSU E.J. Ourso College. The Louisiana Lottery Corp. has nearly 150 employees in offices across the state and ranks first among U.S. lotteries in the percentage of revenue transferred to its government.

Landon, president and owner of Landon Development Co., is a 1980 accounting graduate of the LSU E.J. Ourso College. He established the Landon Development Co. in 2006, drawing upon his previous experience in land acquisition and development operations for Trammel Crow Residential Group and his time as a public accountant with the former Ernst & Whinney.

The Hall of Distinction Banquet will be held March 28 at LSU’s Business Education Complex.

Dr. Peter F. Haynes, dean of the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine, was presented the 2013 Ralph C. Cooper Veterinarian of the Year Award by the Louisiana Veterinary Medical Association.

The award from colleagues recognizes a person who has given the most of themselves in time, energy and ideas to the veterinary profession in the state.

Haynes has served the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine for 40 years, including roles as section chief, assistant director, director, equine service chief, interim associate dean, associate dean, executive associate dean and since 2006 as dean.

Ginger Guttner, public relations director of the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine, received the 2013 Member of the Year Award from the Baton Rouge chapter of the Public Relations Association of Louisiana.

The award recognizes a member for contributions of time and talent to the chapter.

Jarrett Bodi, quality control manager at Gainey’s Concrete Products, was awarded master precaster certification by the National Precast Concrete Association.

The designation is based on completion of a production and quality school curriculum.

Arrighi Construction LLC, a subsidiary of GROUP Industries, received an Eagle Award for The Crest at Galvez Plaza in Baton Rouge in the other construction-less than $2 million category and a Pyramid Award for Repentance Park and Fountain in Baton Rouge in the other construction, $4 million-$100 million category during the 24th annual Excellence in Construction Awards in Maui, Hawaii.

Louisiana Hematology Oncology Associates has received three-year reaccreditation by the Quality Oncology Practice Initiative Certification Program.

It is an outpatient hematology-oncology practice that is part of Our Lady of the Lake Physician Group and Mary Bird Perkins – Our Lady of the Lake Cancer Center.

QOPI is an affiliate of the American Society of Clinical Oncology. Certification is based on standards for quality cancer care.

The Pelican Chapter of Associated Builders & Contractors Inc. has presented Ryan Girouard, of Whitney Bank, with its 2014 Committee Member of The Year Award; Andy Lopez, of Bennett Builders, with the 2014 Beam Club Award; and Sarah Taylor, of Gulf Coast Occupational Medicine, with the Merit Shop Member of the Year Award.


Harvey C. Koch, of Montgomery Barnett LLP, was presented the Martin J. Andrew Award for Lifetime Achievement in Fidelity and Surety Law by the American Bar Association for his contributions to the fidelity and surety law profession.

Koch’s practice includes complex commercial litigation, litigation management, insurance coverage and extra-contractual defense litigation, the construction process, construction litigation and arbitration, contract interpretation, successions and estates, fidelity, surety and financial institution bonds and lawyer’s malpractice law.


The Louisiana Federation of Teachers presented Vernon Bolden, a member of the East Baton Rouge Federation of Teachers, the Mother Jones Award, and Gwendolyn Laurendine, of the United Teachers of New Orleans, the Geraldine Bell Memorial Award.

The Mother Jones Award recognizes a federation member who is dedicated to the cause of education unionism. The Geraldine Bell award recognizes a member’s dedication to students, the profession and the union.

The Louisiana Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects announced the winners of its annual Louisiana Professional Awards competition recognizing excellence in landscape architectural design, planning and analysis, communication and research. Thirteen Louisiana firms submitted 31 projects.

Honor Award winners from the local area or those with projects in the local area by category are The Built Environment, Joseph Furr Design Studio of Baton Rouge for A.Z. Young Park, and Planning, Spackman Mossop + Michaels of New Orleans for Dwyer Canal Revitalization.

Merit Award winners are The Built Environment, Torre Design Consortium Ltd. of New Orleans for the Teton Trek Exhibit at the Memphis Zoo in Memphis, Tenn.; Natural Resources Conservation, Mathes Brierre Architects of New Orleans for The Blood Center in New Orleans; and Residential Design, Jeffrey Carbo Landscape Architects of Alexandria for Classic Louisiana Residence in Lafayette.

The chapter also honored three Patrons of Landscape Architecture: Lt. Gov. Jay Dardenne, New Orleans Mayor Mitch Landrieu and Alexandria Mayor Jacques Roy. Its Service to the Chapter/Profession Award went to Ansel Rankins, assistant director of horticulture and quarantine programs with the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry.