People in business


Robert Beadle has been named refinery manager at Placid Refining Co. LLC’s Port Allen facility.

Beadle was Placid’s engineering manager. He has been with Placid since 1998.

Robin Tassin-Liggett has been named chief people officer at Piccadilly Restaurants LLC. She was vice president of human resources and benefits and has been with the company for six years.

David Faulk has been elected chairman of Capital Area CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocate) Association.

Other officers are Deborah Lamb, vice chairman; Christine Lipsey, secretary; and Katie Ruiz, treasurer.

Newly elected to the board are Reginald Brown, Shirley Lewis, Patricia Manetsch, Robert Woosley, and Roy Hebert and Mary Thompson, who both served previous terms.

Returning board members include Kimberly Bardell, Tanie Bush, Heather Cross, Todd Denton, Tracy Evans, Jessica James, Chris McGhee, Holly Sides, Karen Sirman, Michelle St. Martin and Brandi Williams.


James F. “Bo” Laborde has been named head of the New Orleans office for Marsh USA Inc., a global insurance brokerage and risk consulting firm.

Laborde has worked at Marsh since 1994, having served as practice leader, sales leader, client executive and producer.

St. Tammany Parish Hospital in Covington has named Amy Loar as human resources manager, employee support; Shannon Holley, department head of cardiovascular services; Luis Marquez, director of cardiovascular and imaging services; and Susan Titman, department head of the intensive care unit/critical care unit.

Loar was a human resources representative. Holley was cath lab supervisor. Marquez was department head of cardiovascular services. Titman was critical care nursing supervisor.

David Emond has been named executive director of Liberty’s Kitchen.

He was director of development at Café Reconcile in New Orleans.

Emond replaces founder Janet Davas, who launched Liberty’s Kitchen in 2009 to provide employment opportunities for New Orleans’ population of disconnected, underserved youth.


Matt Matis has been named director of sales for the Gulf of Mexico region of Hoover Container Solutions, a subsidiary of Hoover Group Inc.

Matis was Louisiana sales manager for Swire Oilfield Services in Houma. He is based in Thibodaux and will work with Hoover’s facilities in Port Fourchon, New Iberia and Scott. He also will work with the Hoover and Dolphin Energy Equipment teams.

Doug Keller has been named president of Knight Oil Tools International.

Knight Oil Tools International has operations and facilities in Colombia, Norway, U.K., Netherlands, north Iraq, Middle East and Australia.

Keller has been with the company since 1988 and has served on the executive management team for more than 10 years.

He was executive vice president of Global Strategic Business Development and previously had served as senior vice president, vice president of sales, and vice president of marketing and business development.

Edward E. Abels Jr. has been named executive vice president - general counsel and corporate secretary at PetroQuest Energy Inc. in Lafayette.

Abels was general counsel for Texas Crude Energy LLC, was a shareholder at Greenberg Traurig LLP in Houston and held various in-house counsel positions at Statoil Gulf of Mexico LLC, Union Oil Company of California and KN Energy Inc.


Kenneth Perret, former assistant secretary for the state Department of Transportation and Development and a former administrator with the Federal Highway Administration, has been re-elected president of the non-profit Louisiana Good Roads and Transportation Association.

Also re-elected as officers were Senior Vice President J. Don Weathers, executive director of the Louisiana Asphalt Pavement Association; Vice President Johnny Bradberry, former DOTD secretary and chief operating officer of Topcor; and Secretary/Treasurer Ken Naquin, chief executive officer of Louisiana Associated General Contractors.

Directors elected for 2014 include Joseph Accardo, of the Ports Association of Louisiana; Gen. John Basilica, HNTB; William B. Conway, Modjeski and Masters; Janet L. Evans, Volkert Inc.; Courtney Fenet, R.E. Heidt Construction; Brin Ferlito, Neel-Schaffer Engineers; Al Flettrich, EnCon Resource Group; Steve Hackworth, D&J Construction; David S. Huval, of Huval & Associates; and Shelby P. LaSalle Jr., APWA.

Also, Wayne Marchand, GEC; Roger Melancon, RDM Consulting; Daniel E. Mobley, ACEC of Louisiana; Dr. Kam Movassaghi, Fenstermaker and former DOTD secretary; Gordon Nelson, Fenstermaker; Bob Schmidt, AECOM; William Sussmann, formerly of the Federal Highway Administration; Willie T. Taylor, formerly of DOTD; Bill Temple, CAAL; Neil Wagoner, former DOTD secretary; and Gard Wayt, International I-49 Coalition.