People in Business for Jan. 26, 2014


Dr. Evelyn K. Hayes, who had been serving as interim president and chief executive officer of Baton Rouge General/General Health System, has returned to her seat as chairman of the board of trustees.

New board members are Dr. Everett Bonner, a general surgeon with The Baton Rouge Clinic specializing in breast diseases; Debra Lockwood, executive vice president and chief financial officer at Provident Resources Group Inc.; and Isabelina Nahmens, an associate industrial engineering professor at LSU with appointments in the mechanical and industrial engineering and construction management departments.

Other board members are Janice Pellar, vice chairman, Dr. Venkat Banda, Dr. Peter J. Bostick, Gregory Bowser, Perry Franklin, Gary Graphia, Margaret Hart, Leslie Herpin Marx, Joseph E. Juban, James Llorens, Dr. Andrew Olinde, Buddy Roemer, the Rev. Ronnie L. Williams and Elaine Vallette.

Nicholas R. Rockforte has been named a partner of the law firm Pendley, Baudin & Coffin LLP.

He became an associate in 2008 and practices in the areas of complex litigation involving pharmaceutical litigation, product liability, toxic torts, medical malpractice and consumer fraud.

Darrel Papillion, a partner of Walters Papillion Thomas Cullens LLC, has been elected president of the Baton Rouge Bar Association.

Other officers are Robert J. “Bubby” Burns Jr., president-elect; Jeanne C. Comeaux, treasurer; Karli Johnson, secretary; and Michael S. Walsh, past president.

Directors-at-large are Shelton Dennis Blunt, Linda Law Clark, Christopher K. Jones, Melanie Newkome Jones, Amy C. Lambert and David Abboud Thomas.

Laranda Moffett Walker has been elected chairman of the association’s Young Lawyers Section. Other officers are Scott M. Levey, chairman-elect; Kara B. Kantrow, secretary; and Scotty E. Chabert, past chairman.

Council members also include Francisca Comeaux, Grant J. Guillot, Carrie LeBlanc Jones, Mackenzie Smith Ledet and Loren D. Shanklin.

Chairmen and officers of various sections of the association include bankruptcy section chairwoman Erin Wilder-Doomes; business/corporate law section co-chairmen Michael Platte and Trippe Hawthorne; construction law section chairman Matt Terrell and past chairwoman Kelsey Funes; family law section officers Joanna Hynes, chairman; Anne Richey Myles, chairman-elect; Jennifer M. Moisant, secretary; and Wendy L. Edwards, past chairman; public law practice section officers Christopher K. Odinet, chairman; Danielle Clapinski, chairman-elect; and Leonore Heavey, past chairman; and workers’ compensation section co-chairwomen Robin T. Krumholt, Debra T. Parker, Michelle M. Sorrells and Judge Pamela Moses-Laramore.

Cindy M. Amedee and Katia D. Bowman have been named partners with the Taylor Porter law firm.

Amedee’s practice is health care law, including transactions, compliance and regulation, acquisitions and mergers, privatization and information technology issues. Amedee serves on the firm’s personnel committee and is an adjunct faculty member of the Southern University Law Center.

Bowmann practices in the area of civil litigation with an emphasis on employment law, including defending public and private clients in retaliation, defamation, wrongful termination, discrimination, insurance, breach of contract, unfair trade practice and general tort matters. She serves on the firm’s diversity committee.

Lee Meredith has been named general manager of WAFB. She replaces Sandy Breland, who was named general manager of WVUE New Orleans.

Meredith was vice president and general manager of WMC, the Memphis NBC affiliate.

Raycom Media owns WAFB and manages WVUE.

Brittany Martin has been named corporate manager of proposals at Cajun Industries LLC. Lee Mayeux has been named vice president of operations at Cajun IDC LLC, a subsidiary of Cajun Industries LLC.

Martin was a proposal manager for the company’s public works division.

Mayeux’s experience at Cajun is in estimating and project management.


Robert E. Rousset has been named branch manager of the Jefferson office of Ardaman & Associates Inc.

He was project engineer and drilling department manager of the engineering firm’s Baton Rouge office.

William W. Waring Jr. has joined the New Orleans office of Jones Walker LLP as a partner in the business and commercial transactions practice group and head of the health care team.

He focuses his practice on business formations, governance design, business transactions, contractual arrangements, fraud and abuse, and Stark-related matters in the health care industry.

Waring was senior vice president of North Oaks Physician Group LLC, an affiliate of North Oaks Health System.

Maj. Gen. Michael J. Walsh has been named director of water resources and coastal resiliency at Dewberry, a professional services firm. Walsh was deputy commanding general for civil and emergency operations for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.

Troy Broussard has been named by Cox Communications as its executive market leader for New Orleans.

Broussard was a regional external affairs director with AT&T in Shreveport.