Community column for Feb. 18, 2014

WBR Senior Spirit holds annual Bunco program

Joyce and Kenneth Barbier chaired the second annual Bunco Game Day sponsored by West Baton Rouge Senior Spirit on Jan. 22 at the Addis Community Center. Members played the fast-paced dice game and ate chicken and sausage gumbo prepared by Anatole Vincent, West Baton Rouge Parks and Recreation Department director.

Assisting the Barbiers were Lou Didier, Joan Smith, Deanie DeJean, Beryl Fourroux and Gloria McDaniel. Senior Spirit is a program for people 50 and older sponsored by the WBR Parks and Recreation Department.

LEAN director guest at Tara Garden Club event

The Tara Garden Club met Jan. 22 at Mansur’s on the Boulevard. Marylee Orr, Louisiana Environmental Action Network executive director, was a guest. Hostesses were Margaret Landry and Marianne Merritt were hostesses.

Treasurer Judith Cranor reported a donation to the Goodfellows in memory of Janice Ponti, and a donation for gift certificates for winners of the Christmas Lighting Contest sponsored by the Tara Civic Association and Tara Garden Club.

Iota Master entertains Preceptor Pi Chapter

Iota Master Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi held a Mardi Gras party for Preceptor Pi Chapter on Jan. 23 at Jane Haupt’s home.

Nancy McGraw led a Louisiana-themed program for the 22 in attendance. Grace Burley and her committee of Cheryl Foster, Darlene Poindexter, Virginia Wagner, McGraw and Haupt provided refreshments. Guests received bags with Mardi Gras favors, prizes and entertainment awards.

WBR Historical Society holds annual meeting

The West Baton Rouge Historical Association held its annual meeting Jan. 13 at the West Baton Rouge Museum in Port Allen.

Officers re-elected for 2014 are Babs Babin, president; Lorry Trotter, vice president; Elisa Tubbs, secretary; and Glen Daigle, treasurer. Board members elected for three-year terms are Joyce Barbier, Elizabeth Brantley, Jane Brou, Kim Callegan, Jessamye Charette, Garry Hubble and Elisa Tubbs.

Continuing as board members are Jim Charleville, L.J. Cavaliere, David Couvillon, Glen DeMourelle, Brian Falcon, Ellis Gauthier, Gary Hart, Arlen Landry, Debra Salvadras, Janet Simoneaux, Ruth Stanley, Evva Z. Wilson, Babin, Daigle and Trotter.

Certificates of Appreciation were presented to retiring board members Frank Fore t, Danny LeBlanc and Butch Plauche.

Follow this link to see the photos.

Compiled by Advocate staff writer George Morris. The “Community” column runs every Tuesday and Friday in The Advocate. Items should be submitted to “Community,” Advocate eatplaylive section, P.O. Box 588, Baton Rouge, LA 70821, or emailed to Events should be submitted in a timely fashion. By submitting photos to The Advocate, you agree that they can be published in any of The Advocate’s print or digital publications.