“Youth News” column for Friday, July 19, 2013

The Jackie Robinson Foundation in New York has selected Ikechi Akujobi, of Baton Rouge, for its new college Scholars’ Class of 2017, bringing the total to 194 minority students sponsored by the JRF and its partners for the new academic year.

Akujobi attended Baton Rouge Magnet High School and will attend Stanford University in the fall.

The JRF Scholarship provides $30,000 in grants over four years and includes a host of services and support to select college-bound students who demonstrate leadership potential and financial need.

Established in 1973 by Rachel Robinson, wife of the iconic baseball player and civil rights leader, the Jackie Robinson Foundation is an education and leadership development program. Visit jackierobinson.org for more information.

Ostoj, Campbell honored

Rebekah Ostoj, from Bethany Christian School in Baker, and Joshua Campbell, from Catholic High School of Baton Rouge, were recognized as the outstanding participants after recent health care careers education sessions at Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center and Our Lady of the Lake College in Baton Rouge.

Central Louisiana Area Health Education Center collaborated with the medical center and college to offer the “AHEC of a Summer” program, which helps high school students explore health care professions by volunteering for 15 days in the summer at the medical center. Students rotate through various departments at the hospital to gain hands-on experiences so they can determine for themselves whether or not a health career is a good choice for their future.

Performing in Europe

James Pollard is performing with the Sound of America Honor Band and Chorus, which is on a 23-day concert tour in Europe.

The East Ascension High School senior plays the mellophone and tuba during marching season, French horn and tuba during concert season and the trombone in the jazz band.

Pollard, the son of Marie-Laure Tang, of Papette, Tahiti, and Jim and Cora Wong Pollard, of Hong Kong, resides in Gonzales with his grandparents John and Rosa Pollard.

National Merit scholarships

The National Merit Scholarship Corp. has announced approximately 1,800 additional winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by colleges and universities, including several winners in south Louisiana.

College-sponsored awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study.

Area winners, by city, include:

BATON ROUGE: Tyler M. Causey, Parkview Baptist School, LSU scholarship; Ashley M. Curran, St. Joseph’s Academy, LSU scholarship; Mary A. Fuselier, St. Joseph’s Academy, University of South Carolina scholarship; Elizabeth Prutz, Episcopal High School, Washington University in St. Louis scholarship; Margaret C. Talbot, St. Joseph’s Academy, George Washington University scholarship.

CARENCRO: Nikka Y. Khorsandi, Lafayette High School, LSU scholarship.

COVINGTON: Mary-Brent Brown, St. Scholastica Academy, Washington University in St. Louis scholarship.

GEISMAR: Yeheun Y. Jun, Dutchtown High School, Tufts University scholarship.

HARAHAN: Benjamin P. Bonner, St. Martin’s Episcopal School in Metairie, Lehigh University scholarship.

HARVEY: Alexandra D. Baldassaro, Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy in Jefferson, Rhodes College scholarship.

JEANERETTE: Tatum F. Swize, Episcopal School of Acadiana in Broussard, Northeastern University scholarship.

METAIRIE: Conrad H. Appel IV, St. Martin’s Episcopal School, Southern Methodist University scholarship; Adair E. Boudreaux, St. Mary’s Dominican High School in New Orleans, Fordham University scholarship; Seth S. Chauhan, Jesuit High School in New Orleans, University of Alabama scholarship.

Also, Jessica Gaethe, Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies, LSU scholarship; Carl E. Hellmers, Jesuit High School, Vanderbilt University scholarship; Spencer P. Stanley, Isidore Newman School in New Orleans, Washington University in St. Louis scholarship; Matthew J. Wolff, Jesuit High School, LSU scholarship.

NEW ORLEANS: Jimmy J. Brown, Jesuit High School, Tulane University scholarship; Emily L. Chen, Benjamin Franklin High School, Washington University in St. Louis scholarship; Ara A. Ellison, Benjamin Franklin High School, University of Southern California scholarship; William L. Emmett, Jesuit High School, Emory University scholarship; Kalypso C. Homan, Lusher Charter School, University of Alabama scholarship; Joseph F. Kepper, Jesuit High School, LSU scholarship; Brandon K. Manganello, Jesuit High School, Tulane University scholarship; Samuel J. McHugh, Benjamin Franklin High School, Carleton College scholarship; Matt J. Tillery, Jesuit High School, Fordham University scholarship; David Z. Xu, Benjamin Franklin High School, Tulane University scholarship; Junru Yan, Benjamin Franklin High School, Northwestern University scholarship.

RIVER RIDGE: Benjamin T. Guerra, Jesuit High School, University of Alabama scholarship.

SLIDELL: Daniella K. Gentile, Northshore High School, University of Texas at Dallas scholarship.

ZACHARY: Grace M. Leyrer, Baton Rouge Magnet High School, Tulane University scholarship.

Submit “Youth News” to teen@theadvocate.com or fax (225) 388-0351. By submitting photos to The Advocate, you agree that they can be published in any of The Advocate’s print or digital publications.