LSU’s Mettenberger, Vincent welcome Camp Care group

Advocate file photo by TRAVIS SPRADLINGLSU quarterback Zach Mettenberger (8) is pursued on a run by Arkansas Razorbacks defensive end Chris Smith last season.
Advocate file photo by TRAVIS SPRADLINGLSU quarterback Zach Mettenberger (8) is pursued on a run by Arkansas Razorbacks defensive end Chris Smith last season.

LSU quarterback Zach Mettenberger and assistant director of player personnel Justin Vincent welcomed 38 children in Camp Care, a weeklong camp for children with cancer and their siblings, recently to the LSU Football Operations Center.

Vincent gave the group a tour of the facility and showed a football highlight video, while Mettenberger spoke to the group and signed autographs. Afterward, the children played football on the turf of the Anderson-Feazel Indoor Field.

“It was a very humbling experience to get to hang out with these courageous kids,” Mettenberger said. “It is experiences like these that make you appreciate every day you are given.”

The visit to the LSU Football Operations Center was the last activity before Camp Care’s closing ceremonies. Camp Care is one of the numerous programs run by the Cancer Services of Greater Baton Rouge for children who are coping with a cancer diagnosis or the cancer diagnosis of a parent.

Nicholls State

COLONELS ANNOUNCE FALL PRACTICE SCHEDULE: In Thibodaux, the Nicholls State University football program announced its fall schedule as 95 players are set to report Thursday, followed by the team’s first practice on Friday night.

The Colonels will have 23 practices before moving into game week preparations for the season opener Aug. 31 at Oregon.

The first day of full pads is slated for Wednesday, Aug. 7 with the team’s first scrimmage set for Saturday, Aug. 10.

The second is set for Aug. 17, along with the annual Tillou’s Maniacs Youth Clinic, set for 10:30-11:30 a.m.

NICHOLLS STATE FALL PRACTICE SECHEDULE

Friday, August 2: 7:15 p.m. practice (helmets); Saturday, August 3: 9 a.m. practice (helmets); Monday, August 5: 9 a.m. practice (shells); Tuesday, August 6: 9 a.m. practice (shells); Wednesday, August 7: 9 a.m. practice (full pads); Thursday, August 8: 8:15 a.m. practice (full pads), 7:45 p.m. practice (shells); Friday, August 9: 9 a.m. practice (full pads); Saturday, August 10: 8:30 a.m. practice/scrimmage (full pads), 10:30-11:30 a.m. - Tillou’s Maniacs Youth Clinic (ages 7-12), 7:10 p.m. practice (shells)

Monday, August 12: 9 a.m. practice (full pads); Tuesday, August 13: 8:15 a.m. practice (Full Pads), 7:45 p.m. practice (shells); Wednesday, August 14: 9 a.m. practice (full pads);

Thursday, August 15: 8:15 a.m. practice (full pads), 7:45 p.m. practice (shells); Friday, August 16: 9 a.m. practice (full pads); Saturday, August 17: 8:30 a.m. practice/scrimmage (full pads); Monday, August 19: 9 a.m. practice (shells); Tuesday, August 20: 9 a.m. practice (full pads); Wednesday, August 21: 3:10 p.m. practice (shells); Thursday, August 22: 3:30 p.m. practice (full pads); Friday, August 23: 3 p.m. practice/mock game (helmets); August 26-29: TBA; Monday, August 26: noon Kickoff Luncheon at the Century Club