Youth News for July 5, 2013

50 in La. chosen to receive Horatio Alger scholarships

C/LtCol Mary Palasi receives her General Ira C. Eaker Awardby Louisiana Wing Commander Col. Art Scarbrough
C/LtCol Mary Palasi receives her General Ira C. Eaker Awardby Louisiana Wing Commander Col. Art Scarbrough

Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans has chosen 50 Louisiana students to receive Horatio Alger Louisiana Scholarships, scholarships awarded based on students’ demonstrated commitment to education, dedication to community service and strength of character in overcoming personal obstacles to achieve academic excellence.

Each scholar will receive $10,500 that will go toward college tuition, fees, books and on-campus room and board and have access to other opportunities such as financial aid, support and referral services and a network of peers and alumni.

Area 2013 recipients, by city and high school, include:

Amite: Cordell A. Ricard, Amite High School.

Baton Rouge: Denzel M. Alexander, Redemptorist High School; Treasure Barton, Parkview Baptist School; Tommy T. Nguyen, Tara High School.

Breaux Bridge: Tori S. Joseph, Breaux Bridge Senior High School.

Chalmette: Amanda L. Freeman and Kelsy J. Lohr, both of Chalmette High School.

Denham Springs: Shalmeka P. Sterling, Denham Springs Senior High School.

Destrehan: Imani S. Spencer-Allen, Destrehan High School.

Edgard: Asasha A. Terry, West St. John High School.

Elton: Marcus R. Soileau, Elton High School.

Erath: Krislyn A. Romero, Ashley E. Venable and Gabrielle M. Vincent, all of Erath High School.

Gretna: Peter Nguyen and Brandi Thomas, both of Thomas Jefferson Senior High School.

Gueydan: Kelcie A. Evdokimoff, Gueydan High School.

Houma: Carter M. Hay, Vandebilt Catholic High School.

Lafayette: Alonda Morgan, Lafayette High School.

Marrero: Ameer Thabata, John Ehret High School.

New Iberia: Zhayna A. Yarber, New Iberia Senior High School.

New Orleans: Kiara A. Belton, Warren Easton Charter High School; Collin Jeremiah J. Davis, St. Augustine High School; Leo Encalade, Warren Easton Charter High School; Christopher S. McKnight, Lusher Charter School.

Patterson: Rachel M. Lemoine, Patterson High School.

Port Allen: Kimi T. Clopton, Port Allen High School.

Rayne: Dannie R. Harmon Jr., Rayne High School.

Slidell: Corey M. Broussard, First Baptist Christian School.

Springfield: Regina R. Brown, Springfield High School.

Thibodaux: Dillion A. Dantin, Thibodaux High School.

Palasi gets Eaker award

Civil Air Patrol Cadet Lt. Col. Mary Palasi of the Capitol City Squadron has received the General Ira C. Eaker Award.

To obtain this award she had to write a 300- word essay speech that took at least 5 minutes on a selected Civil Air Patrol topic, be active in the character development program and pass a physical fitness test. Other requirements include having a resilient attitude, using empathy, being articulate, showing responsibility, actively developing and mentoring cadet officers, setting long-term goals for the unit, directing multiple teams and managing multiple tasks.

Palasi will be going to the United Kingdom this year as part of an International Air Cadet Exchange and during the summer she will be cadet commander for the Civil Air Patrol Louisiana encampment, assistant commander in Texas and commander at the Tennessee encampment.

King attends science camp

Warner King, a 2013 homeschooled graduate from Walker, is representing Louisiana as a delegate to the 2013 National Youth Science CampĀ® held in West Virginia through July 20.

King and 121 other top science students from across the nation and around the world are spending weeks immersed in science lectures and hands-on directed studies led by some of the top scientists and professors from around the world.

King is planning to study electrical engineering at Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah, this fall.

Submit “Youth News” to or fax (225) 388-0351. By submitting photos to The Advocate, you agree that they can be published in any of The Advocate’s print or digital publications.