UL-Lafayette picked to win Sun Belt again

NEW ORLEANS — Five-time
defending Sun Belt Conference softball champion Louisiana-Lafayette was picked to win another league title, receiving all nine first-place votes by the league’s coaches, the conference office announced Monday.

Headlining the preseason All-Sun Belt Conference team are ULL’s Nerissa Myers, selected as the Player of the Year, and Jordan Wallace, picked
Pitcher of the Year.

Myers, the Cajuns shortstop, had a career-best 13 home runs and 79 RBIs last season. Wallace, the reigning SBC Freshman of the Year, set the NCAA mark for the best start to a career by a freshman with a 23-0 record.

After winning the 2012 SBC tournament championship, South Alabama earned eight of the nine second-place votes to garner 71 points. FIU was tabbed third with 52 points, while Troy’s 49 points edged out North Texas’ 48 for fourth.

Louisiana-Monroe was picked eighth.

ULL enters the season having won 11 of the past 12 SBC regular-season championships, including the past five. The Cajuns posted their eighth 50-plus victory season in 2012
under co-head coaches Stefni and Michael Lotief. Michael Lotief takes over at the helm for the first time this season after Stefni stepped down after the 2012 season.

ULL opens season Saturday with two games in the Hilton Plaza Classic at the University of Houston. The Cajuns play Lipscomb at 4:30 p.m. and against Iowa at 7 p.m.